Developing toughness...

Discuss Taijiquan or other soft styles. Theory, practice and applications. Please stay on topic.

Moderators: nyang, Dvivid, Inga, taiqiman

Developing toughness...

Postby caesar » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:03 am

Hi,

I'd like to hear opinions about how much pain should be felt in training,
and in what stages and how far? What are your ways to develop tolerance, deal with fear? Does Taichichuan and other internal/soft arts have a different way to see this for example compared to shaolin arts?

I'm not an expert in the history of TCC, but I've heard and understood
that Yang Ban Hou didn't have many students because of his tough training
methods. He would show the students where they lack defence by actual
blows, waking up the student to reality. His brother Yang Jiang Hou was
said to be more gentle and more popular among students.

I've trained a couple of arts and had to deal with pain in different ways.
In some arts pain is almost never felt and training softness is more important. Let's
say I don't personally believe that anyone can have a clear sense of what
self defense means if they've never had to deal with pain when training.
Then again, in some hard Kung Fu styles the parts of body that were
supposed to block or hit, were been hardened, by "bone density training".
I didn't like this...

Then again, in one art I got injured often because all kinds of wrist
locks and stuff were done too hard on me (186cm, 60 kg = not much muscle
or fat protecting the joints.) But I still think I learned valuable
lessons in that art, having to confront my fears every time I attended
class...and having to learn to "KEEP ON GOING", even when in the moment of suffering. I
believe this is important in a real life situation. Although, in the same art, a teacher once said (after he did a violent lock very gentle, very soft, without pain)..."when we learn how to do a technique without hurting, we are actually learning to be even more destructive"